Lassa Fever 10 Foreign doctors evacuated

0
74

A group of foreign medics and a Sierra Leonean doctor have been suspected to have been infected with the life threatening known as the Lassa fever.

The Sierra Leonean Anesthetist, who is one of the victims in the Tonkollili area, where the cases have been identified, is said to have been evacuated along with 7 Dutch and 3 British doctors.

However, the two Dutch health experts and the Sierra Leonean have tested positive with the deadly Lassa disease. The others are said to be “high risk” cases as have been exposed to the contagious disease.

The District Medical Officer, Dr. Abdul Mac-Falana of the Tonkolili District, said: “The infected doctors came into contact with the disease while dong a surgery on a pregnant woman at the Masanga Hospital in the early hours, where some foreign doctors provided assistance to our health care system. The doctors were attempting to stanch the pregnant woman’s bleeding, who later died.”

The Eastern District of Kenema is besieged by this deadly monster of a disease, the likes of which is comparable only to Ebola. Lassa Fever, which is not a disease that is new in the East, broke out in Tonkolili in 2017, with dangerous strands from the Ebola disease, with signs and symptoms of fever and hemorrhaging.

Orange SL Unveils End of Year Campaign

By FeimaSesay

Orange Sierra Leone has officially launched its ‘end of year holiday campaign’ promotion of products and services for its numerous costumers across the country.

The event on Monday, November 25 2019, at Orange’s Rawdon Street Office in Freetown, features statements from the Chief Executive Officer of Orange SL, Amanita Kane.

“This period is the time we celebrate with our families and friends. It is  a time  of fun  and merriment, it is also a time  of reflection, how Orange has impacted you as a person, your family and community.  Reflecting that Orange SL  in May  and June  2019 gave over four hundred and fifty customers the opportunity to have food items  for a day, a month and a year’s supply for six costumers, plus twenty five million chop money in its Ramadan promotion,” she said.

Orange also disclosed that as part of its innovation and resilience in providing affordable voice and data services, it twice this year reduced its internet cost as part of its digitalization strategy. Orange also boasts about increasing it Orange Money costumers with over 650, 000, who could now send and receive money, pay for goods and services at the press of a button irrespective of their location in the country.

Having done a thorough engagement with all walks of life, Orange says, “so at this year-end, we want to touch again the lives of over four hundred and fifty households with opportunity to be financially sustainable.”

According to the Orange CEO, the Management and Staff  takes pleasure to launch “Campaign Cha-cha the holiday” were 6 costumers will win a business of their choice worth seventy five million Leones, four hundred customers win cash  prizes  worth over  four hundred million Leones,”  and also assured that,  “We will  continue to be meaningful  in the lives  of our customers with affordable offers and give  back to Sierra Leoneans  with support in education, health , human capital and support  the government in their digitalization drive.”

Explaining, Alfred Kamara Marketer   in a simple tone talked about the cha-cha campaign as long lasting and sustainable for not only the present but coming generations cataloguing the company’s intervention in the free education, also David Mansaray CEO Orange Money presented total of Le 50m cheques to two Le25m each back to school winners – Lucy Conteh and Desmond Campbell, both are students in Makeni, daily Le500, 000 bonanza, and others in the weekly draw of Le1m for winners.

The marketers, however, have disclosed that the numbers that are dedicated to inform winners of their numerous offers and bonanza.

TVET Ends Its Stakeholders Holds Seminar

The Technical and Vocational Training (TVET) as on Wednesday, November 27 2019, Held a Stakeholders Meeting at the Atlantic Conference Hall, Stadium Hostel, Freetown. The aim of the meeting is to update stakeholders on TVET image campaign activities that have been carried out since February 2019.

Mr. Abdul Sesay, representative from the Ministry of Higher and Technical Education said the ministry wants to see this project be more productive and with a conductive learning environment.

Mr. Sesay intimated that the ministry has a whole segment in the Ministry of Higher and Technical Education, which creates a whole platform for school pupils to access TVET training.

He added that this project was funded with a $ 2.4 Million USD from the African Development Bank, which is a pilot project, where they first targeted 2,700 youth across the country.

He also continues that they are partnering with different international organizations like the United Nation Development Programmes (UNDP), the African Development Bank (AFB), and World Bank, to promote development among young people in the country.

Mr. Christopher John Foster, Chairman of  the TVET Coalition, said, Africa is implement a programme that is called the African continental free trading, which would serve the whole of Africa.

Mr. Foster pointed that TVET has a major role to play in the development of the country’s economy. During the 1960s, TVET was formally introduced to all primary schools, which is labelled ‘Art and Craft.’

He added that by highlighting the policies that will take the campaign to the next level and some of these policies are coalition of the TVET activities that have been developed as a policy, improved relevant training certificates will be issued to trainers, and the government would identify the quality tools for the various TVET institutions, quality TVET programmes and proposals.

He ended by saying that the ministry has a major role to play in ensuring they develop a key policy to include TVET as a core subject so as to change the narrative.

Albert Sheku, from the NCTVA, said Sierra Leone is going too slow in the Technical Vocational Training area, but assured the public that after this campaign there will be more improvement.

He also said that with the help of giz and the World Bank they provide them with a bio metric system that will record all the enrolled students in the academic year.

He added that they have also provided them with an active website, where they can be stored or published all information relevant for the institution.

  LEGAL Link Boss Crowned Environmental Legal Practitioner

SHOUT CLIMATE CHANGE AFRICA, a leading environmental organisation in Africa, in commemorating their annual Environmental Care Awards has given this year’s Environmental Legal Practitioner Award to lawyer Rashid Dumbuya, Executive Director of LEGAL LINK.

According to SHOUT CLIMATE CHANGE AFRICA, this decision was reached by the award governing body based on the following reasons stated below.

MERITS & JUSTIFICATIONS

Rashid is a lawyer by profession, a member of the Sierra Leone Bar Association, an Associate lecturer at the Department of Law, Fourah Bay College University of Sierra Leone as well as an International Human Rights advocate and Public Defender.

He currently serves as the Executive Director of  LEGAL LINK.

Rashid holds a Bachelor of Arts Degree and Bachelor of Laws Honours Degree from Fourah Bay College University of Sierra Leone as well as an LLM Degree in International Human Rights Law from the Centre for Human Rights, University of Pretoria, South Africa and an LLM Degree in Petroleum Law and Policy from the University of Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom.

The Dean of Law, Kabarak University School of Law, Republic office Kenya, has also recently certified him as FELLOW.

Rashid has strong expertise in Environmental Impact Assessments projects, strategic impact and public interest litigations, human rights and the extractive industries, project planning development, research and advocacy.

During his tenure as Commissioner of the Human Rights Commission of Sierra Leone, Rashid was the Commissioner in charge of Business and Human rights. Under this portfolio, Rashid helped increase the effective monitoring of over 30 Mining and Agro based industries operating within the extractive industry in Sierra Leone.

 During those Monitoring exercises, Commissioner Rashid ensured that Companies have policies and programmes in place that respects not only  the human rights of workers and host communities where they operate but also the health and safety of the environment.

With Rashid’s enthusiasm, Sierra Leone was able to organise the 1st National Conference on Business and Human Rights.

That same year, the Commission was also able to launch its 1st Annual report on Business and human rights. This report showcases the extent to which companies within the extractive industry have respected and/ or abused environmental rights.

At his new organization called LEGAL LINK, Rashid Dumbuya Esq is currently leading a team of lawyers, law students and human rights activists who are providing free legal representation to vulnerable groups and affected communities that have been deprived of their lands by companies and investors through unlawful means.

Apart from his push and advocacy for effective legal frameworks to protect the environment, LEGAL LINK has also done extensive work on tree planting, environmental cleaning exercises and empirical research.

As a matter of fact,  Rashid has recently published THE LEGAL RASH SUSTAINABLE ENERGY ACTION PLAN FOR SIERRA LEONE to help advocate for the use and prioritization of renewable energy within the energy mix in Sierra Leone because of its environmental benefits.

Currently, with his dynamic leadership and support, work is also being done by LEGAL LINK to develop a MODEL CONTRACT for Sierra Leone that will help address the issue of decommissioning and post – decommissioning liabilities in onshore and offshore operations.

Finally, Rashid Dumbuya Esq has also helped provide free legal assistance to SHOUT CLIMATE CHANGE AFRICA in dealing with key environmental cases within the period under review.

It is for all of the above reasons why SHOUT CLIMATE CHANGE AFRICA has objectively decided to give this year’s Environmental Legal Practitioner award to lawyer Rashid Dumbuya.

ANTI-CORRUPTION COMMISSION

CATHEDRAL HOUSE

3 GLOUCESTER STREET

FREETOWN

SIERRA LEONE, WEST AFRICA

Ref: ACC/PR/19/026                                                                                   

27th November, 2019

PRESS RELEASE

ACC INDICTS KENEMA ADMINISTRATIVE HEAD, REGISTRAR HIGH COURT AND TWO OTHERS

The Anti-Corruption Commission (ACC), on 27th November, 2019, filed an indictment against *PETER MOHAMED KAMARA, ADMINISTRATIVE HEAD of the Law Courts, ABDUL KARIM KARGBO, HIGH COURT REGISTRAR, KENEMA DISTRICT, UMARU TARAWALLY, OFFICER-IN-CHARGE, NON-TAX REVENUE DEPARTMENT, NATIONAL REVENUE AUTHORITY (NRA), KENEMA DISTRICT, AND ANSU SOMBO, A VOLUNTEER AT THE NRA, KENEMA DISTRICT,* on four-counts of Misappropriation of Public Funds, contrary to Section 36(1); and Conspiracy to Commit a Corruption Offence, contrary to Section 128(1) of the Anti-Corruption Act 2008, respectively.

Between March and September 2019, Peter Mohamed Kamara, Abdul Karim Kargbo, Umaru Tarawally, and Ansu Sombo conspired to misappropriate the sum of Sixty Million Leones (Le: 60,000,000)* when they willfully failed to pay the said sum into the Consolidated Revenue Fund. The money is a total amount of court fines imposed on one Mathew Sesay and one Abubakarr Sidique Turay who were convicted for corruption offences by the High Court of Sierra Leone Holden in Kenema and each fined *Thirty Million Leones (Le: 30,000,000).

Our investigations discovered a corrupt enterprise, whereby Umaru Tarawally, Officer-in Charge, Non-Tax Revenue, NRA, Kenema will write on the original receipt the actual amount received, and then records a lesser on the duplicate and the cashbook; which remains as the actual record of the NRA. In this instance, Umaru Tarawally received *Thirty Million Leones (Le: 30,000,000) from each convicted person. He then dishonestly wrote *Thirty Million Leones (Le: 30,000,000) on the original receipts and recorded *Thirty Thousand Leones (Le: 30,000) on the duplicate receipts and entered same in the NRA cashbook. This means, he and his co-conspirators had *Fifty Nine Million, Nine Hundred and Forty Thousand Leones (Le: 59,940,000) to share, while only a meager Sixty Thousand Leones (Le60,000) went to the State.

Meanwhile, the accused persons are expected to make their first appearance in the High Court Holden in Kenema on 12th December, 2019. 

The Commission wishes to reassure the general public of its unshaken resolve to fight acts of corruption at all levels and at all times in Sierra Leone. 

For further enquiries on this and other ACC matters, please contact Ms. MARGARET MURRAY, the Public Relations Officer on +232-78-832131.

……………………………………….

PATRICK SANDI

DIRECTOR, PUBLIC EDUCATION AND OUTREACH

MY ENCOUNTER WITH A GRAVE DIGGER IN FREETOWN

By Kemoh Saidu Sesay

In the early hours of yesterday what appeared to be a quiet day, I received a call from my neighbour; he instructed me to quickly meet him at the Moyeba Community Health Centre. I sprang in awe knowing too well that his pregnant wife had been taken to the health centre to put to bed a bouncing baby boy who will carry my name as planned. I dashed to the health centre to see the caller and to know the reason for calling. Upon my arrival, I saw the brother’s face sunk in deep tears. He ultered with a solemn voice that his wife had put to bed but the baby did not survive to see the universe, a deja vu. Oh my God! I paused in concrete shock with an empty mouth finding words to feed on. The shock continued for a while but I later recovered from it. Words of consolation poured out from a cracked voice overwhelmed with galaxies of grief. After consoling the young man, myself and other sympathizers enquired for what should be the next step. A soft voice from the delivery room at the health centre explained the way forward and directed us to take the deceased at the Kissy Road Cemetery. We took the road that led to the aforementioned cemetery with a “kekeh” tricycle as means of transportation.

At the Kissy Road Cemetery, we were asked to secure a death certificate and pay for other charges before burial. The father of the dead settled all of that and we were then permitted to lay the innocent to rest.

In his emaciated bones with a tattered white shirt which appears brown to me, he approached us with a loose focus that accompanied a grim looks of unending despair. “Who have you brought to bury?” He asked. A voice from my back asked with a bucket of curiosity, who are you? I am a grave digger , he responded with authority.

I stood in aloofness wondering at the grave digger’s appearance. By his looks I can tell that he is of the same age with my father who is dwelling in his late 50s.

Anyways I proceeded with my purpose of being at the grave side. My feelings for his condition dried up like fresh leaves in the harmattan. After satisfying my purpose of being there, I stood on my feet to meet this grave digger. He lied on one of the graves in complete comfort sandwiched with absolute body pain. I greeted him and he replied with a farmish voice. Sufferings and pains have beclouded his entire life. He said he was hungry and I comb my pockets to see if I could help the situation. He was so lucky, I discovered a faithful Sengbe Pieh note in one of my pockets. We shared that note. He disappeared to search for food while I waited him to come back. He came oozing a container of sweat with a smile of relief from hunger.

Kapre not his real name, explained his plights as a grave digger in Freetown. “Doing this kind of work is difficult and it comes with obvious challenges,” he stated. He further explained with a wry smile. “Pipul dem wicked na dis contri dem nor care but we,” he expressed a well of frustration about the attitude of Sierra Leoneans towards him and his colleagues. My countenance was arrested by guilt and found culpable of the grave digger’s claim. Grave diggers are human beings like us. They need recognition, protection in their trade and better living conditions. They work without protective gears, no per diems or basic allowances. Their work is a complete sacrifice to the human race but nobody seems to care. For us to achieve  ‘the leave no one behind’, we need to embrace and fight for equal access and opportunities for all irrespective of one’s background or walk of life.

Grave diggers deserve a better treatment like other workers in other trade.

NYFL Calls For New Leadership

B y Mustapha Dumbuya

The National Fullah Youths Liberation (NYFL)  has on the  November 25 2019 in a press conference held at SLAJ Conference room called for the change of Chernor Issa Jalloh and Chernor Pottal Bah, the National and Western Area Fullah Youth Leaders 1and 2.

Silvin Bah, the Chairman of NYFL, ,said that as a movement, it was formed in June 2019 for the general welfare of most Fullahs in  the organization in Sierra Leone were not pleased with the appointments of the National and Western Area Fullah Youth Leaders 1and 2 made by the acting Fullah Chief Tribal Headman of the Western Area, Chief Alhaji Jalloh.

He also said that the movement comprises various Fullah Youth Groups across Sierra Leone representing the 14 districts with a mindset of following due process with democracy principles.

He added that since the appointment of the duo, NYFL has been in constant negotiation with the chieftaincy, who pleaded that the former and latter appointment being restricted to the Western Area only as it was agreed in of the meetings that chief will declare the National Fullah Youth Leader Position Vacant so as to allow due process.

He noted that chief’s decision should be revisited because the chief lacks the authority to appoint a national Fullah youths leader while he is only acting as Western Area Fullah Tribal Head and that  NYFL does not recognize the selection of Chernor Issa Jalloh and Chernor Pottal Bah as National Fullah youths leader .

Chernor A.S Bah, Press Secretary NYFL in responding to some of the snooping questions from media practitioner’s intimated that as a Fullah group they have the rights to question the decision of the Chief and that his decision should be revisited, this is because we are currently leaving in the 21st century and they need proper representative.

The Chairman concluded that they have resolved to explore all means within the law if their positions are not met within 21 days.

GoSL and IATA Sign BSP Agreement

By SLCAA COMMUNICATIONS

The Government of Sierra Leone (GoSL) through the Ministry of Transport and Aviation and the International Air Transport Association (IATA) have signed the Billing and Settlement Plan (BSP) Agreement for the establishment of a single standard interface for invoicing and payment between travel agents and airlines.

Operating in 181 countries, the Billing and Settlement Plan is set to facilitate and simplify the selling, reporting and remitting procedures of IATA Accredited Passenger Sales Agents, as well as improve financial control and cash flow for its approximately 400 participating airlines.

Signing the agreement, the Minister of Transport and Aviation, Hon. Kabineh Kallon described the initiative as a laudable venture that will create the enabling environment for tourism and trade to blossom, adding further that the Government of Sierra Leone spends an annual fortune on foreign travel due to huge variances in ticket sales to the same destination.

“Having a BSP in Sierra Leone will allow for the domestication of global standards that ensures the security and reliability of funds among participants in the air travel and trade value chain. It will also enhance accountability in revenue management for the National Revenue Authority and the Sierra Leone Civil Aviation Authority (SLCAA),” the Minister said.

In his statement, the Director General of Sierra Leone Civil Aviation Authority (SLCAA), Moses Tiffa Baio said the signing of the BSP agreement is a testament of government’s commitment to make the aviation industry competitive in the sub-region. He added that the BSP is another step taken to reduce air ticket burden on Sierra Leoneans as it strives to stabilize the fluctuation of the exchange rate.

“I am happy to announce that Sierra Leone is the first country to sign the BSP agreement within the Sub-region. The BSP will provide immense benefit for the government and the people of Sierra Leone in that it provides predictability, certainty and sanity for ticketing, reporting and remittance generated from Foreign Travel Tax (TAX) and other taxes levied on airlines, travel agents and other aviation service providers, He said.

IATA’s Head of Account Management for West and Central Africa, Dr. Samson Fatokun expressed his appreciation to all players involved, commenting further that the BSP will boost Sierra Leone economy greatly as more jobs will be created, more airlines  and travel agencies would be established which would improve the Freetown International Airport (FNA) and other sectors. He concluded by stating that the government has already taken the lead to improve the aviation industry which in itself is a great achievement.

While commending the government for the agreement signed, the Head of Sierra Association of Travel Agencies (SLATA), John Rogers said that government has demonstrated that in the introduction of BSP, Small and Medium Enterprises have not excluded from the process. “The BSP will not only benefit travel agencies, but also the country and those tourists who would want to visit Sierra Leone. While we commend the SLCAA Boss for his effort, we assure the government of Sierra Leone that the BSP will be a success, “He said.

The Secretary of the Board of Airline Representatives (BAR), Mr. Edgar Lacle thanked the Government of Sierra Leone through the Ministry of Transport and Aviation, noting that it is a step in the right direction. He assured the government and the people of Sierra Leone of the board’s continued support to not only BSP initiative, but also any project that seeks to develop the aviation industry.

CRACKDOWN ON ILLEGAL SIPHONING AND REPACKAGING OF CEMENT PRODUCTS AT G.K’s COMPOUND- KISSY DOCKYARD

On Monday, November 25 2019 intelligence reaching the Regional Command Police for Freetown East AIG Edward Ahaih Samadia resulted in the arrest of 19 suspects.

At G. K.’s Compound at King George Avenue, Kissy Dockyard by Shankerdas, opposite Ahmadia in Freetown a group of thieves were found siphoning cement using funnels, plastic pipes, four machines and tailors.

by a combine team of personnel headed by the Regional  Police Headquarters at Ross Road with Supt. Mansaray the Regional Operations Officer heading the team.

At the Crime Scene, six big vehicles loaded with bags of different made cement products and with the said vehicles’ registration numbers: APE 250, AAX 835, ALJ 205, AIR 312, AKH 459 and ALA 665 were found in the compound. These vehicles it should be noted, were to deliver the cement products they were carrying  at different delivery destinations other than the venue they were found!

About the Compound:

This compound is said to be own by one G. K. The compound is divided into two  areas, with a wall fence separating an area with a mighty house and on the other side, an open space.

Compression of used plastic products is being carried out in one side in the open space while the siphoning and REPACKAGING of the cement products was been carried out in a makeshift building (Panbody).  Also, close by this (Panbody structure) there is a Water packaging Factory.

Suspects arrested:

A total number of Nineteen (19) suspects including two drivers and a lady were arrested for the offences of Conspiracy, Unlawful  Possession and the illegal  Siphoning and  REPACKAGING  of various cement products.

Exhibits Found:

At the scene of crime, the under mentioned exhibits were discovered:

1. Quantity of bags of cement

2. Quantity of dusts suspected to be cement products  in other bags other than the real cement bags

3. Large funnels used in the placement of siphoned cement products in  the REPACKAGING  cement bags “

4. Rubber tubes allegedly used in the siphoning of cement products from the original bags bought   into another bag before final placement into the REPACKAGING cement bags.

5. Empty LEOCEM cement bags – used for REPACKAGING of the siphoned cement

6.Empty Dangote cement bags for the same purpose above

7. Empty Goltns cement bags also for the obvious purpose..

8. Empty white bags used to place siphoned cement dusts from original cement bags.

Our preliminary investigation has it that: the siphoning  and final REPACKAGING of  cement products will give the perpetrators of this illegal  act THREE ( 3) BAGS  of reduced 50 Kilogram  of cement  AFTER THE SIPHONING AND REPACKAGING  WOULD HAVE BEEN ACCOMPLISHED  OUT OF TWO ORIGINAL 50 KG BAGS OF CEMENT SIPHONED! This is a cause for concern to say the least.

Investigation is in progress.

Members of the General Public are therefore urged and requested to report these illegal activities of siphoning and REPACKAGING of other products including our staple food- RICE to the nearest Police Station/ Post. We assure the General Public of the SLP’s relentless efforts in fighting crime and the fear of crime. 

Mayor Aki-Sawyerr Launches Citywide Geo-Mapping Project

By FCC Communications

Freetown City Council’s property geo-mapping has started after a successful piloting in three wards early this year.

The geo-mapping initiative, which is funded by DFID, started as a pledge during Mayor Aki-Sawyer’s ‘Fo Wi Komyuniti, Fo Wi Friton, Fo Wi Progress campaign.’ Today, it was launched by the Mayor, in the presence of Councilors and staff of FCC, and our partners -DFID, IGC, ICTD and WARC – amongst others.

The property geo-mapping will require FCC’s enumerators going into the compounds, but not buildings, of all properties to collect data on the physical attributes of the property, the access to public services, and the owner of the property. GPS coordinates will also be taken.

The geo-mapping project serves three purposes for FCC;

1. It will help us develop a comprehensive database of all properties in Freetown so everyone is liable to pay taxes.

2. It will help us calculate property tax fairly.

3. It will help us distribute demand notices more efficiently.

Capturing information for all properties in the city is crucial to FCC’s Revenue Mobilization efforts as it brings us one step closer to relying less on donor funding to provide public services for our residents. Before now, less than 30% of all properties in the city were captured for property taxes.

We kindly ask residents allow our enumerators into their compounds to get their data and for our residents to pay their taxes!

Day 5: We do this for our children

By David Sengeh

In her 35 years as a teacher and now head of school, this school leader had never met a leader from the Ministry of Education (she has seen inspectors of schools). She said that she felt incredibly proud as a teacher and a school head that a Minister visiter her school and sat with her children.

I told her that these children too were my children.

Today I visited Nursery and class 3. Class 3 was doing revision so I sat through an entire Environmental Studies session. At the end, I asked a “why” question… why should you look left and right before crossing a road (the original question was a fill in the blank statement…) after many mumbles, a young lady seen in the photo said that it was to make sure a car wasnt coming before crossing. She and I exchanged a few words after she thanked me for visiting. I could see her beam with joy just like my child.

Many kids in nursery didnt know their age. I was however very impressed with the leadership of the school, the freedom with which the kids engaged (particularly in nursery) and played and the diligence of the teachers.

As a parent, I know how much work I put in everyday with my 3yr old. She loves reading and I love reading with her. I understand that close to 70% of our population cannot read. For the 30%, we need to have a reading habit. We should commit to reading at least 2 to 3 times a week with our children either at night or in the morning for 15mins. For everyone else, even if you dont know what your children are reading, consider engaging with them so they teach you. We need a reading and learning revolution in Sierra Leone and it starts with you and me. It starts with you committing to reading regularly, if  not everyday with your children or giving them the space to read. Please open a book, call your child, give them a hug and read with them. Yes, do that now and see the magic!

Ministry of Information and Communications dialogue with local state actors

By Emmanuel A.B. Turay

The Ministry of Information and Communications today (27th November 2019) engaged key local state actors to discuss and chat the way forward to enhance national dialogue series on the impact of the Repeal of Part 5 of the 1965 Public Order Act.

The objective of the meeting is to further foster advocacy and community awareness raising and sensitization campaigns, the Deputy Minister of Information and Communications Mamadi Gobeh Kamara explained.

It is expected that the amended bill will be laid by the Minister of Information and Communications Mohamed Rahman Swaray in the well of Parliament in the second week of December 2019.

It could be recalled that a bill entitled ‘The Public Order (Amendment) Act, 2019’ has been recently gazetted. It seeks to ‘amend the Public Order Act, 1965 (Act No. 46 of 1965) by repealing Part 5 which deals with defamatory and seditious libel and to provide for other related matters.’ 

Present at the meeting were the Minister of Information and Communications Mohamed Rahman Swaray, the Deputy Minister of Information and Communications Mamadi Gobeh Kamara, representatives from the Sierra Leone Association of Journalists, the Media Reform Coordinating Group, Independent Media Commission, Right to Access Information Commission, Open Society Initiative for West Africa and Civil Society Organisations including CHRDI and CGG.

MY ENCOUNTER WITH A GRAVE DIGGER IN FREETOWN

By Kemoh Saidu Sesay

In the early hours of yesterday what appeared to be a quiet day, I received a call from my neighbour; he instructed me to quickly meet him at the Moyeba Community Health Centre. I sprang in awe knowing too well that his pregnant wife had been taken to the health centre to put to bed a bouncing baby boy who will carry my name as planned. I dashed to the health centre to see the caller and to know the reason for calling. Upon my arrival, I saw the brother’s face sunk in deep tears. He ultered with a solemn voice that his wife had put to bed but the baby did not survive to see the universe, a deja vu. Oh my God! I paused in concrete shock with an empty mouth finding words to feed on. The shock continued for a while but I later recovered from it. Words of consolation poured out from a cracked voice overwhelmed with galaxies of grief. After consoling the young man, myself and other sympathizers enquired for what should be the next step. A soft voice from the delivery room at the health centre explained the way forward and directed us to take the deceased at the Kissy Road Cemetery. We took the road that led to the aforementioned cemetery with a “kekeh” tricycle as means of transportation.

At the Kissy Road Cemetery, we were asked to secure a death certificate and pay for other charges before burial. The father of the dead settled all of that and we were then permitted to lay the innocent to rest.

In his emaciated bones with a tattered white shirt which appears brown to me, he approached us with a loose focus that accompanied a grim looks of unending despair. “Who have you brought to bury?” He asked. A voice from my back asked with a bucket of curiosity, who are you? I am a grave digger , he responded with authority.

I stood in aloofness wondering at the grave digger’s appearance. By his looks I can tell that he is of the same age with my father who is dwelling in his late 50s.

Anyways I proceeded with my purpose of being at the grave side. My feelings for his condition dried up like fresh leaves in the harmattan. After satisfying my purpose of being there, I stood on my feet to meet this grave digger. He lied on one of the graves in complete comfort sandwiched with absolute body pain. I greeted him and he replied with a farmish voice. Sufferings and pains have beclouded his entire life. He said he was hungry and I comb my pockets to see if I could help the situation. He was so lucky, I discovered a faithful Sengbe Pieh note in one of my pockets. We shared that note. He disappeared to search for food while I waited him to come back. He came oozing a container of sweat with a smile of relief from hunger.

Kapre not his real name, explained his plights as a grave digger in Freetown. “Doing this kind of work is difficult and it comes with obvious challenges,” he stated. He further explained with a wry smile. “Pipul dem wicked na dis contri dem nor care but we,” he expressed a well of frustration about the attitude of Sierra Leoneans towards him and his colleagues. My countenance was arrested by guilt and found culpable of the grave digger’s claim. Grave diggers are human beings like us. They need recognition, protection in their trade and better living conditions. They work without protective gears, no per diems or basic allowances. Their work is a complete sacrifice to the human race but nobody seems to care. For us to achieve ‘the leave no one behind’, we need to embrace and fight for equal access and opportunities for all irrespective of one’s background or walk of life.

Grave diggers deserve a better treatment like other workers in other trade.

International Stars Are Trooping For ECOFEST 2019 In Freetown

IMG-20191127-WA0054

As the Pre Ecofest Party holds today at the Golden Tulip Hotel in Freetown, more African International stars continue to jet into Freetown the two-day festivities of the Festival of ECOWAS Nations (ECOFEST). The grand festival is slated to take place on Saturday 30th November 2019 at the Siaka Stevens Stadium in Freetown. This is the 3rd edition of the festival since it was introduced in 2018.

This year’s event will bring 10 African nations on one stage in one big night, in an exchange of music, comedy and cultural backgrounds. Sierra Leone is largely represented in this year’s event with over 20 Music and Comedy acts.

Since Wednesday the 27th November 2019, many International stars have been entering Sierra Leone for the festival. They include Abiba from Senegal, Sofia from The Gambia, and more. Diamond Platinumz, Jose Chameleon, Basket Mouth, Kwame Eugene and others are expected to arrive later on Thursday 28th November 2019.

The euphoria among fans is amazing. All craving and in high anticipation to meet their favourite stars.

The organisers are in high spirit to deliver the biggest Africa Music Festival to the fans. All necessary technical and organisational arrangements have been made.

Convoys of fans from the West African region, and those from the provincial areas of Sierra Leone are also entering Freetown to witness the never to be forgotten event.

ZAM MULTIMEDIA PRODUCTIONS TO PRESENT KAO DENERO IN EUROPE

BY ZAM MULTIMEDIA PRODUCTIONS

The management team of Zam Multimedia Productions are pleased to inform all and sundry that they will present Sierra Leone’s best rapper Kao Denero to Germany and the rest of Europe between November 2019 to December 2019. The US-based Sierra Leonean rapper – Amara Denis Turay popular on stage as Kao Denero will be performing in Berlin, Germany on the 29th November 2019. Kao Denero is well set to deliver a sensational performance in Germany and other parts of Europe.

On the 6th December 2019, Kao Denero will be performing in Paris, France.

On the 7th December 2019, he will return to Munich, Germany for another classic performance.

On the 13th December 2019, he will be presented in Belgium.

And finally on the 14th December 2019, he will be performing in Italy before returning back to the United States of America.

Zam Multimedia Productions is the most credible show organisers and event management company in Europe that has worked with many Sierra Leoneans stars across the world. Their main objective is to promote Sierra Leonean artists (from both home abroad) in Europe. They have been giving many Sierra Leonean artists the platforms to excel and sell their crafts and brands in Europe.

For instance, Zam Multimedia Productions presented Sugar Lulu on a European Tour in 2016, and a successful show for Eazy Kay in Munich, Germany in February 2019. Attempts were also made by the company to present Famous in Europe. An agreement was initially reached by his management who later asked for a postponement from July 27 to August 16, but eventually cancelled due to some unforeseen circumstances by his management team.

The CEO of Zam Multimedia Productions, Abdul Karim Kabia also known as AKK is in top gear together with his management team to ensure that Kao Denero’s upcoming shows in Europe are successful.

Other updates and announcements regarding the forthcoming shows will be made to the public.

Dear Sierra Leoneans; dear Africans…

These days, you hear something about “Climate Change” every day –  on all the major international radio and television stations; also on local electronic media stations. It sounds like something new; something terrible  – like Ebola. It is.  In fact, Climate Change is much worse than Ebola.  But it is not new.

Let’s tweak the language of “Climate Change” for Sierra Leoneans and Africans to better relate to it …

Climate Change means that the problem of drinking water scarcity in Sierra Leone, in Africa… will get much worse.  As temperatures rise because of global warming, people in very hot countries like ours in Sierra Leone, will need about 12 packets of water a day.  There won’t be water to buy, even for those who can afford it. 

Climate Change will mean less food for nearly all Sierra Leoneans.   The National Medium-Term Development Plan of the Bio Administration states that Sierra Leone is the “third hungriest country in the world” – hangri boku nar Salone pass almost all dem kontri dem nar di world‼‼ Climate Change will mean worsening of this hunger as the agricultural soils won’t produce much food.

There are Chinese companies chopping down the about 15 % of remaining forests in Sierra Leone.   This is worse than ten of the bad things Foday Sankoh did to Sierra Leoneans during our civil war … all together! On AYV television and Star Television, and Mercury Radio and Culture Radio recently, I called commercial logging in Sierra Leone as “ecological genocide”. Why is the Bio Administration allowing  this horrible thing to go on? It is because some of the ministers in the Bio Administration probably think that when they spoil Sierra Leone and things get bad and nasty, they will run back to live in England and America. I will explain this later. 

The question is what do we do?

Get all the scientific facts about global warming and man-made Climate Change. Ask questions. 

Know this: no one can escape Climate Change  – especially Sierra Leoneans, and Africans.   You either fight now to prevent the worst from happening or you will suffer great pain and die young.  

The goal of the SLAVE SHIP-FREEDOM SHIP Movement is to prevent the worst from happening! It’s to change the bad things being predicted by credible scientific institutions and scientists around the world for Africa into very good things. Spread the word.  Only massive People’s Power can let us give traction to our Green Optimism.

I pause,

Oswald Hanciles, The Guru.

(Founder and CEO of the SLAVE SHIP-FREEDOM SHIP Movement).

Stats SL inflation figures are what the markets say; we still use goods and services fixed in 2008, not 2019. We are changing the base year in 2020!

Our attention has been brought to an article questioning the Consumer Price Index (CPI) that Stats SL publishes which determines the inflation rate in the country.

We do appreciate the interest in our work and the comments people make. Please keep them coming because these will make us better by the day. As we keep inviting, we are approachable and welcoming; please walk to us for clarification on any aspect of our work that remains unclear to you.

We want to assure the public that our intention as a national institution will remain — *to do the right thing and produce credible data for national development;* always! And we will do so in a transparent and accountable manner using international and comparable standards.

We also want to inform the general public that pricing few commodities that does not reflect the average consumption pattern of the people is unscientific and therefore not a correct way of measuring inflation.

First, we called a press conference and explained the need to correct a methodological error in the compilation of the CPI. Stats SL, unfortunately until recently, didn’t reflect the policies Government implemented in 2010 (free midwifery consultation services) and 2018 (free quality education). Working with IMF, we successfully catered for these so our new compilation sheets do not now show that either or both of the services are paid for. Our intervention hence had a slight effect on the CPI series.

Second, the CPI basket contains a fixed set of goods and services that cannot be changed at will. So even when there are new goods and services which are in the market and which drive price increases, so long as they are not in our current basket, they will NOT be used for pricing.

For instance, let us assume we have RICE (type A) in our basket. We will stick to RICE (type A) until a scientific process is put in place to replace RICE (type A) if it is no longer largely used. So if there is RICE (type B) which the country now likes and its price changes every day, it will not be captured by our teams who visit the markets across the country. We will continue to use RICE (type A).

It will surprise many that the current 437 items of goods and services in the CPI basket were determined in 2008, 11 years ago! The right thing to have done was to review and revise the contents of the 2008 basket after five years using the results of the Sierra Leone Integrated Household Survey (SLIHS 2011). This was not done. As at the time of writing this comment, *we are still using the goods and services captured in 2008*.

Now we are trying to revise that 2008 basket as a priority. But how does a CPI basket get revised? This is done after a living standards survey, SLIHS 2018, from which we are also currently reporting poverty statistics. We have been able to identify the goods and services that are currently generally used by the population. We are consequently working with IMF, World Bank, ECOWAS and others to determine a new CPI basket. We have done so. We are removing some old items (like cassettes for tapes) and introducing new ones (like mobile communication).

Moving forward, we are rebasing to a more recent year (2018) and roll-out the new basket for the compilation of the CPI in 2020. This means that our CPI figures will reflect the current situation and 2018 will become the new base year for comparison.

Mwaluma Gegbe

Director, National Accounts & Economic Statistics Division

[email protected]

Isata Keikura-Allieu

Principal Statistician & Head

Price and Labour Statistics Division

[email protected]

Stats SL HQ

Tower Hill

Freetown

Attempted Suicider Discharge

By Jane B. Mansaray

Justice Alusine Sesay of the Supreme Court of Sierra Leone has discharged an attempted suicider Abdul Bangura, a twenty years old youth.

The attempted suicide matter was yesterday mentioned  at the opening of the one hundred and sixty nine fresh indictment cases  in the 2019 judicial criminal calender session.

Twenty years old Abdul Bangura, a resident of Tombo Waterloo Rural district was arrested on the 14th April 2019 when he attempted to kill himself by hang himself with a cloth.

Legal Aid Board Counsel Lawyer N. Spenser Coker on behalf of the accused person pleaded with the presiding calling over Judge to temper justice with mercy and to offer warning to the accused not to make such attempt.

Defense counsel futher appeal with the Judge to ordered the refarral of the accused person to the Ministry of Social Welfare for assement and psyco social counselling at the placement scheme for children at the Ministry.

Justice Alusine Sesay however admonished the accused person to add valued to his life and have faith in God no matter the situation. He said even the quranic scripture is a sin for one to take his own life.

The accused was discharged and refer to the Ministry of Social Welfare for assement.

30 DAYS TO BAI BUREH FESTIVAL CELEBRATION IN PORT LOKO

The Bai Bureh Festival Celebration for the first time in the history of Sierra Leone will be recorded as one of the most positive and Inspiring event in the Port Loko District Calendar of activites. The Celebration is geared towards Celebrating our Great Men and Women in Port Loko District, the rivatialization of our  Culture and  Heritage is at the Apex of the Bai Bureh Festival Celebration slated for the 27th- 31st December 2019.

The Bai Bureh Festival Celebration will be implemented by the Bai Bureh Heritage Foundation in collaboration with the Port Loko District Council, the Port Loko City Council, Office of the Resident Minister Northwest Region, Port Loko Diasporas and the Ministry of Tourism and Cultural Affairs Sierra Leone. The Bai Bureh Celebration will influence the attendance of thousands of idengines and well-wishers to Grace the functioning and sharing of this year’s Bai Bureh Festival Celebration.

The Bai Bureh Festival Celebration is embedded with Nine (9) different activites to be implemented in Five (5) Days.

See attached Event Calendar

The Law School Must Be Saved Or Rescued

By Francis Gabbidon

  Lecturer Evidence Law And Practice, Sierra Leone School 1990/91 – 2008/9

1) Prior to the enactment of the Council of Legal Education Act No 1 of 1989, which saw the establishment of the Council of Legal Education in Sierra Leone, persons wanting to enter the Legal Profession in Sierra Leone had to undertake their legal studies abroad, invariably either in Great Britain or in the Republic of Ireland.

2) The first significant step in the training of members of the legal profession locally was the establishment of the Faculty of Law at Fourah Bay College the University of Sierra Leone. The first set of LLB student graduated in 1987, the next step was to provide for the professional training of the new law graduates from F.B.C.

3) The four students who graduated in LLB at FBC in 1987 were:

(1) Umaru Barrie

(2) Abu Bakarr S.I. Conteh

(3) Kaifen Kallay

(4) Foday Kallon

4) Barrie and Conteh are alive and practising law, Kallay and Kallon passed the Bar Exams but died after a few years.

5) By the Council of Legal Education Act No.1 of 1989 – a mandate was entrusted to the new Council of Legal Education by section 6 of the 1989 Act which set out the functions of the council the most important one being to establish and maintain a School of law to be known as the Sierra Leone Law School which was to undertake a course of study and professional training for graduates who wished to be admitted to practise law in Sierra Leone.

6) The next significant step was the enactment of the Legal Practitioners Act 2000, No. 15 of 2000, which transferred the power to admit and enrol persons wishing to practise law in Sierra Leone form the Chief Justice to a new General Legal Council establish by the same Act. However the role of the Council of Legal Law Education and the Sierra Leone Law School in respect of running the course of study leading to the professional qualification for admission remains paramount.

7) It is necessary to state this background as many Sierra Leonean do not know how the Law School was established.

8) The Law School was formally opened on the 23rd February 1990 with 26 Law Graduates as the first crop of students enrolling for the professional course.

9) Professor Tuboku-Metzger was appointed the Principal of the Law School and Mrs. Ada Bailor a non-lawyer as the first Registrar until her, retirement from the Law School, she was brilliant in her operation and management of the school in conjunction with professor Tuboku – Metzger and the supporting staff such as Mrs. Olatungie Campbell, Mr. Michael Macarty and Davies-Cole.

10) From its inception the Sierra Leone Law School was run with very high standards and procedures, I have visited the Law Schools in Ghana, Nigeria and Kenya and I can safely say that until recently Sierra Leone can boast of a very good Law School producing barristers of outstanding ability and dedication to the profession.

11) The Sierra Leone Law School can boast of Barristers of outstanding ability and merit just as good or even better than those trained at Universities in the UK and, the Inns of Court in England and Ireland. I know what I am saying as taught Evidence to students at the Sierra Leone School, for over 20 years from FBC, UK, Ghana Nigeria and Cameroon and I believe our standards then was as good as any other African Country. The Sierra Leone Legal Profession and the country at large are proud of some brilliant lawyers produced by the school.

1. Abdul Tejan Cole OSIWA

2. Emmanuel Cole USA/UN

3. Joseph Kamara Commissioner – ACC

4. Ebun Aforo Dept. Min. Of Foreign of Affairs

5. Justice Desmond Edwards High Court

6. Justice Abdulai Charm High Court

7. Justice Alusine Seisay High Court

8. Lahai Farmah Law Officers

9. Justice Ekun Roberts Court of Appeal

10. Yada Williams Chairman General Legal Council and a brilliant Civil Lawyer

11. Kweku Lisk African Minerals

12. Arrow Bockarie Deputy Att – General

13. Jamesina Johnson Human Rights Commission

14. Ibrahim Yilla ICC Hague/Sierra Leone

15. Melron Nicol-Willsio Human Right Lawyer

16. Chenor Bah Deputy Speaker of Parliament

17. Pa Momoh Fofanah Brilliant practising lawyer

18. Sulaiman Kabba Koroma Brilliant practising lawyer

19. Rhoda Suffian Kargbo Called to the Sierra Leone and Canadian Bar-Special Court

20. Fatmata Sonie Practising Lawyer

21. Leon Jenkins-Johnson Practising Lawyer

22. Monfred Sesay Law Officers Dept-Brilliant Criminal Lawyer

23. Elvis Kargbo President SLBA

24. Sonkita Conteh NGO

25. Ady Macualey Prosecutor ACC (Brilliant)

26. Ansu Lasana Practising Lawyer Very Good

27. Easmon Ngakui Practising Lawyer Very Good

28. James Fornah Seisay Lawyer Civil/Criminal Very Good

29. Maitta Kai Samba

30. C.V. Taylor and many other lawyers I cannot name in this article

31. S. Bah DPP Brilliant

32. A. Lamnart Brilliant Civil Lawyer

12) A number of Sierra Leonean trained lawyers have pursued post graduate degrees abroad, and so far we have a high percentage of success:-

Sierra Leone

Emmanuel Cole LLM – Distinction

Joseph Kamara LLM

Dandyson Thompson LLM

Abdul Tejan-Cole LLM

Yada Williams LLM

Alimamy Seisay LLM

Bernadette Williams LLM

Jasmine Caesar PHD

Rowland Cole LLM

Sulaiman Bah LLM

Miatta Kai-Samba LLM

Priscilla Schwartz (PHD)

Melron Nicol-Wilson LLM

Jamesina Johnson LLM

Binneh Kamara LLM

Lansana Dumbuya LLM

Ibrahim Sorie LLM

Rhoda Suffian Kargbo LLM

Fatmata Sorie LLM

Sonkita Conteh LLM

Sally Khatumal LLM (oil and gas)

Farid Alghali LLM

Adekunle King LLM (oil and gas)

Sonia Standley LLM

Martha Seisay LLM

Michaella Swallow LLM

Alpha Jalloh LLM (oil and gas)

Gambia

Henry Carrol (P.H.D)

Howson Semaga-Janneh LLM

Essa M’bye Faal LLM

Ida Jallow LLM

Sierra Leoneans called to other Bars

Rhoda Suffian Kargbo Canadian Bar

A. Kalokoh Maryland Bar

B. Ebun Aforo Atlanta Bar

C. Maureen M’cleod Atlanta Bar

D. Abu Bakarr King Gambia Bar

E. Ibrahim Sorie New York Bar

F. Fatmatta Sorie New York Bar

Sierra Leoneans in the Diaspora (lawyers) trained at the Law School

i. Beklize Alhaji Tejan-Cole is the Registrar of the Belize Intellectual Property Office; he has written a book entitled “Blizean law of Copyright”.

ii. Alimamy Seisay – Legal Adviser African Union Ethiopia

iii. Dr. Priscilla Schwartz-Lecturer University of London

iv. Osam Keh Kamara – Ambassador to Ethiopia and the African Union

v. Amadu Koroma – Deputy Ambassador to the Permanent Mission of Sierra Leone at the United Nations (USA)

Gambians trained at the Sierra Law School positions achieved

1. Essa Faal – Presently Defence Counsel to William Ruto the Vice President of Kenya facing criminal charges at the (ICC) International Criminal Court.

2. Kebab Sanyang – Att-General

3. Pa Harry-Jammeh – Att-General

4. Alhaji Marong – Senior Counsel International of Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda. (ICTR).

5. IDA Jallow – Legal adviser, Airtel Head Office

6. Dr. Henry Carrol – Solicitor-General and Legal Secretary Government of the Gambia.

I have outlined some of these achievements by some products of the Law School to show the high standards of training and professionalism we taught and maintained at the Law School, during our period there.

There are many other I have not mentioned in this article who are in the Commercial Banks, Bank of Sierra Leone, the Judiciary, Judges and as Magistrates. Law Officers Department, Civil Service, Academic positions and General Practitioners.

Are we going to ignore all these achievements of the law school, because of the resent exams irregularities at the Law School. At it inception the school has made do with a small body of dedicated tutors mostly drawn from the ranks of the practicing bar who offered their services on a part time basis. The number of students at the school was also small.

The staff composition at the school, now includes some good judges, the question now is should they really teach at the Law School? In the UK, Nigeria, Ghana and Kenya to name a few countries, judges don’t teach at their respective law schools because of reasons I will not outline here. It is my humble suggestion that the staff composition of the Law School should be reviewed.

The Law School scandal is unusual and unprecedented. I have not seen the report of the Investigation Team but I will comment them for a good job done.

I will commend the Honourable Chief Justice for the bold step to set up the Inquiry and follow up in its recommendation, well done. I will also commend Mr. Yada Williams a former tutor at the school for helping to expose the exam irregularities and pursuing it with all its consequences. He is a tutor the Law School and Council of Legal Education should be proud of.

The exam irregularities that happened now would not have happened during our time. As we (the tutors) kept a strict oversight and monitoring of the exam papers, the correct marks and indeed the correct results. Over the last few years a lot of changes have happened at the Law School.

The students, who originally blew the whistle, must also be commended. Those who tampered with the Spread Sheet and the correct marks have also probably ruined the lives and career of their fellow man, and will have to live with their God and conscience.

I believe the law school will rise again, after this murky period. At its inception some lawyers and some judges were against it but some of us at the Bar then had confidence it will succeed. We should not allow them to prove us wrong.

There is now abundant evidence that apart from this unfortunate impasse the Law School has consistently produced good and dedicated lawyers for the Sierra Leone, Gambia and even the Cameroon bar.

For the benefit of us all the law school must be saved or rescued now.

ACC INDICTS KENEMA ADMINISTRATIVE HEAD, REGISTRAR HIGH COURT AND TWO OTHERS

The Anti-Corruption Commission (ACC), on 27th November, 2019, filed an indictment against PETER MOHAMED KAMARA, ADMINISTRATIVE HEAD of the Law Courts, ABDUL KARIM KARGBO, HIGH COURT REGISTRAR, KENEMA DISTRICT, UMARU TARAWALLY, OFFICER-IN-CHARGE, NON-TAX REVENUE DEPARTMENT, NATIONAL REVENUE AUTHORITY (NRA), KENEMA DISTRICT, AND ANSU SOMBO, A VOLUNTEER AT THE NRA, KENEMA DISTRICT, on four-counts of Misappropriation of Public Funds, contrary to Section 36(1); and Conspiracy to Commit a Corruption Offence, contrary to Section 128(1) of the Anti-Corruption Act 2008, respectively.

Between March and September 2019, Peter Mohamed Kamara, Abdul Karim Kargbo, Umaru Tarawally, and Ansu Sombo conspired to misappropriate the sum of *Sixty Million Leones (Le: 60,000,000) when they willfully failed to pay the said sum into the Consolidated Revenue Fund. The money is a total amount of court fines imposed on one Mathew Sesay and one Abubakarr Sidique Turay who were convicted for corruption offences by the High Court of Sierra Leone Holden in Kenema and each fined Thirty Million Leones (Le: 30,000,000).

Our investigations discovered a corrupt enterprise, whereby Umaru Tarawally, Officer-in Charge, Non-Tax Revenue, NRA, Kenema will write on the original receipt the actual amount received, and then records a lesser on the duplicate and the cashbook; which remains as the actual record of the NRA. In this instance, Umaru Tarawally received Thirty Million Leones (Le: 30,000,000) from each convicted person. He then dishonestly wrote Thirty Million Leones (Le: 30,000,000) on the original receipts and recorded Thirty Thousand Leones (Le: 30,000) on the duplicate receipts and entered same in the NRA cashbook. This means, he and his co-conspirators had Fifty Nine Million, Nine Hundred and Forty Thousand Leones (Le: 59,940,000) to share, while only a meager Sixty Thousand Leones (Le60,000) went to the State.

Meanwhile, the accused persons are expected to make their first appearance in the High Court Holden in Kenema on 12th December, 2019. 

The Commission wishes to reassure the general public of its unshaken resolve to fight acts of corruption at all levels and at all times in Sierra Leone. 

For further enquiries on this and other ACC matters, please contact *Ms. MARGARET MURRAY,* the Public Relations Officer on +232-78-832131.

PATRICK SANDI

DIRECTOR, PUBLIC EDUCATION AND OUTREACH

MUTZIG BOMBA BONANZA

Be part of this exciting festive bonanza

Get 1 full case of Mutzig Can (50cl) in exchange for 3 crates with 24 empty bottles brought to any of our distributors below:

Bayco Ent. – Goderich Patrilla Ent – Lumley

Sugar Loaf – Kingtom & Robert St.

 Marie Snell – John Street

Hawa Foday – Texaco Larry Park

 Mary & Sons – Calaba Town

 Mems Ent – Makeni

Star Point – Kosso

 Kasasa – Kenema & Bo

Offer starts 27th November and ends 13th December 2019

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here